Gibson Brands Forums

Finger Picks

RichG

I am fairly new to the forum but have been playing since the 60's. Originally I did not use finger picks but switched to using them all the time not long after. I notice many of the videos that are posted show players not using them. I use a plastic thumb pick and two metal finger picks.

What's your opinion?

Rich

Ive only been fingerpicking for about 5 months, so Im still learning the ropes around the basics.

But even after that time my gut feel is that I really like my fingers to be feeling the strings, along with the nail for added bite.

When Im ready Ill probably give a thumb pick ago, but I have a feeling Im unlikely to go in that direction as I really the feel of my thumb gliding over the bass strings.

I have been using a thumb pick now for about two weeks

i had tried before..but couldn't get used to it... and gave up after probably a few minutes..[crying]

I wanted to do it though..so spent about an hour really trying..then it started to feel ok... I'm still getting used to it..but I won't go back now .. I am really enjoying the other aspect it is giving to my playing [thumbup]

Bare finger tends to be a more intimate sound (Ry Cooder), although you can really snap 'em (Rory Block). Picks are more defined attack (Jorma, following from Gary Davis). No rules. Go for the sound. I tend to go for the picks. Use 'em live (dynamics) , so practice with 'em. Plus, now messing with lap steel.

I keep trying a thumb pick for the dynamic it offers but I still can not find a TP that is comfortable they all seem to be very tight did I say I have a "fat" thumb still searching for that "big and tall" pick... [unsure]