Gibson Brands Forums

Any fans of Townes van Zandt on the forum?

Lars68

I'm pretty new to the music of Townes van Zandt, but a few months ago I bought his album "Live at the Old Quarter". I expected a good album, but boy was I surprised. The album is sublime. It is whithout a shadow of a doubt the single best acoustic/singer songwriter album I have ever heard (I'll put Neil Young's "Live at Massey Hall" in second place).

The album is Townes with his acoustic guitar in front of a small but very enthusiastic audience in a club in, Houston, Texas. His music is mostly stark and highly emotional. These naked versions of his songs perfectly fit the mood, and I think they trump the studio versions I have heard by quite a bit.

Knowing the sad fate of Townes van Zandt and the struggles he went through during his short life, makes hearing the songs even stronger. Most of the songs appear to relate very closely to his own life and experiences.

Here are two of my favorite songs from the album:

Lars

He was indeed unique. "If I Needed You" is thought by many to be an all time " Top100" . He travelled to and from gigs sometimes using his thumb. Sometimes bringing his 2 hamsters. The "Loop and Lil agree" in that song. For some reason, "Snowing on Raton" seems to me to provided a view of the artist more than the many other songs he's written I've heard.