Gibson Brands Forums

Question about AGF

generaldreedle

So this will show that I'm new to guitar forums, but whenever I hear Gibson discussed on AGF there is a more than sizable contingent that denigrates the consistency of Gibson, or they're hardly mentioned at all when people are asking for recommendations, it's either Taylor Taylor Taylor or Martin or the Santa Cruz, Collings people. Is there a history to this on the forum or what? I'm asking it in this forum because I wanted some non AGF answers.

I'm just surprised because when I was going through my buying process at GC here in Seattle all the Gibsons sounded great and my J45 Custom has been fantastic.

Honestly, a lot of AGF folk just dont 'get' the Gibson tone. Their definition of a guitar is either a 'cannon' Martin or piano like 'bass' and responsiveness.

Plus too many of them go to church to play their Taylors and Gibson is the devils doing, its evil, bad, stay away from it I tall ya !

Then some of them suddenly have an awakening when after 25 years they finally get it .... and a new world begins -these are my favourites.

btw: are you definitely not an AGF mod in disguise ... ? [blink]

I think a lot of new guitar players/buyers tend to gravitate to the brighter sound of Taylor's or buy a Martin because they are the oldest and most famous brand. Then when they own one of these brands they listen to the rumors and without bothering to do any research for themselves jump on the Gibson bashing wagon. I don't pay any attention to it personally I put most of it down to ignorance. I suspect years down the road and with improved playing skills the Gibson naysayers end up buying one anyway.