Gibson Brands Forums

Managerial Jobs

Izzy

Hi all,

Most of you know I am a nurse and I love the hands on aspect of it. I'd also love to teach.

For reasons I don't want to go into I may be forced into a major in healthcare management (unless I chose to not get a masters at all and keep a BSN).

If any of you are in management I'd like to know what it is like for you:

Good? Bad? Ugly?

Hi all,

Most of you know I am a nurse and I love the hands on aspect of it. I'd also love to teach.

For reasons I don't want to go into I may be forced into a major in healthcare management (unless I chose to not get a masters at all and keep a BSN).

If any of you are in management I'd like to know what it is like for you:

Good? Bad? Ugly?

from what i've seen from 30+ yrs in the private sector,

management = passing your tasks downhill so you can go play w/your uber expensive toys.

if something good happens, you take the credit, if something bad happens, you blame an underling.

somebody prove me wrong.

Guest Farnsbarns

Well, imx you take a different approach, your head is always partially in your job, day and night. You take ultimate responsibility for everything your team does, and measuring performance based on prescribed KPIs and report to other managers after interpreting said information, making adjustments to performance by designing processes and coaching staff members. You take on the unpleasantness of disciplining staff. You are often disliked, or at least approached differently and have to deal with negative types who are anti managment and have a them-and-us attitude and then wonder why they aren't progressing. These people usually don't apply themselves and shirk work by any and all means necessary. Of course, if you are lucky your remuneration will reflect this extra stress and responsibility.

I myself was in heavy construction, building everything from hospitals to 45 story high rise buildings, and usually had between 50 up to 400 people working for me,