Gibson Brands Forums

whats your method to learn a cover song?

guitar_randy

Whats your method to learn a new song:

1.Do you learn a new song by ear,tabs,reading music,one of those guitar trainers where you slow song speed down,other?

2.How long does it take you to learn a song completely?

3.Do you learn the song note for note or fairly close but not exact?

tabs were a HUGE help when i started playing guitar, id learn the songs note for note to see what/how other artists play

i used to look up all kinds of music from metal/country/rock/bluegrass/reggae/blues to get a good sense of all types of music

i still do this

now that im much better than back then, i look at tabs every now and then if i think of a song i want to learn, and i usually dont learn the whole thing, but learning by ear has become much more natural,

also with a higher skill level, i like to play other peoples song i learn with the band and give those songs a touch of our own style, so it doesnt sound exactly the same

so were covering, not replicating

EDIT: i do wish i could read sheet music better though

Excellent Question ....

I personally play by ear, so I'll throw a disc in give the song a few spins to get the feel of the song.

Plug in (or not) give it a lash to build a frame for the basics.

After about three rounds of battle I usually have the majority figured out.

I can get the rhythm down almost perfect, but never try to exactly duplicate the solos, start with the same lick and end on a similar note and all is well. I don't read tabs. (I'm legally Blind) and can't be bothered by every single note.

I prefer to make the songs my own as opposed to trying to sounding exactly like the original artist.

I make Otis Redding sound like AC/DC .... lolz