Gibson Brands Forums

Do endangered woods make better guitars?

I studied at Lancaster University but they never mentioned guitars when I was there [mad]

Just as well.

This is part of the text from that link

Overall sound quality ratings were then given by 52 guitarists in a dimly lit room who played the different guitars while wearing welder's goggles

all the telltale traits of a secret society.

Well in acoustics I think everyone agrees that wood type makes all the difference..

If the wood is endangered or not is not an issue to the sound.

People need to start accepting alternative woods at one point or another.

The other thing people don't seem to get.. Its not the wood species that counts.. EVERY piece of wood no matter what species is slightly different, thus every guitar that is made is slightly different.. That's what you get when you use an organic material.

Ohh and to add to my above post. Another reason these sorts of tests are pointless and they cant quantify the "tone" of a guitar is because every person has different experience and expectations so everyone thinks slightly different things about the same guitar because like wood we are organic and each one of us is slightly different (despite how similar we may seem to be sometimes)..

All that counts when you buy a guitar or listen to someone playing is, do you like it. If you do there is no need to quantify it, there doesn't have to be reason.

Well in acoustics I think everyone agrees that wood type makes all the difference..

If the wood is endangered or not is not an issue to the sound.

People need to start accepting alternative woods at one point or another.

The other thing people don't seem to get.. Its not the wood species that counts.. EVERY piece of wood no matter what species is slightly different, thus every guitar that is made is slightly different.. That's what you get when you use an organic material.