Gibson Brands Forums

Love my Bass's . . . . . .

mihcmac

When I was 14  a strangely compelling Tiesco Bass hanging on the in a music store, I had been playing the guitar for about 2 years at this time, but had no idea about Bass playing. I bought the Tiesco on time using my lunch money, the moment I walked out of the store with it, some friends saw it and asked if I wanted to join their band. 2 days later we were playing a frat party gig.

I have always played guitar, but sometimes I would get distracted by a beautiful Bass like this Guild Starfire below and tended to only play Bass in original music bands that tended to be very progressive.

guild-sf-bass-2-blnd-1974-cons-full-fron

I have had several Bass's but still dream about this Guild.

I got paid more often for playing Jazz, Rock, Blues or Country Bass.

My main problem playing Bass is that I have always been a decent guitar player and I would get distracted by my latest 6-string purchase.

I just recently bought my First Yamaha, a TRBX 174 that is very well balanced, plays wonderful and its P & J pickups sound killer, so much so that my Bass player can't keep his hands off of it and is buying it from me.

?image=aHR0cHM6Ly9tLm1lZGlhLWFtYXpvbi5jb

I know there are  a lot of other people who play Bass in this forum and I would like to see your favorites.

Edited by mihcmac
  • Thanks 1

I did quite a lot of bass gigs - back in the day I had a fine 70s Fender P bass that had been stripped.  That was when bass strings cost less than £10 -12 a set!!

I still have a nice Squier Jazz bass from the late 80s.   Here's a 2013 pic; bridge pickup is a cheap EMG Select.   Long-gone Aerodyne Strat on the left (not a very good guitar) and my modded System III Strat on the right.   A good-sounding, long scale bass guitar is a necessary thing for me to this day!

These days I use it to teach my single remaining bass student, every 2-3 weeks. 

NFenders3.jpg

Edited by jdgm
  • Like 1