Gibson Brands Forums

Why did you first pick up the guitar?

Micsan28

I was just wondering how everybody first came to start playing the guitar, or just music in general

When I was a Junior in high school, my buddy was a drummer in a band. I was at his house when they were supposed to be practicing, but their bassist never showed up (It turns out he got arrested on the way there). So they tought me a few bass lines, and we jammed for a bit and I filled in on their next gig a few days later.. The next day, I went out and bought me a guitar. I started learning some songs, and never looked back after.

I was 21 and at a party....we were...umm....pretty messed up. We went in the basement and there was all sorts of music stuff (my buddy played guitar but he had a bunch of stuff)

So we just picked up instruments...I grabbed a guitar and played it HORRIBLY....but somehow I still fell in love with it....i think it sounded good in my state...

My father sang old C&W songs and had expensive taste in guitars. There was never a time when there wasn't either a Gibson or Martin in the house. I learned early on that they were the Gold Standard.

My brother graduated from a POS Kay (which he gave me) to a Holiday solid body to a nearly new '65 or '66 blue Mustang with Heathkit amp (with reverb and tremolo!).

My uncle was a drunk c&w singer (with Hummingbird) that could have run alongside George Jones. Drunk, black Robert Blake Baretta t-shirt with smokes rolled up in the sleeve, thumbing a Hummingbird, cigarette dangling from the lips, glassy eyed.

So between the three, I had no choice but to pick up a guitar.

1. I'd had a facination with the guitar, from seeing Elvis doin' HOUND DOG on TV.

My uncle had an old guitar he gave me- I was only, like 6, and just banged on it, until it disappeared- (hmm)

Then a few years later- the Beatles came along- and it was all over- I was hooked.

2. I also was no good at sports.

3. to get girls!