Gibson Brands Forums

I've learned a valuable lesson about Strats

stumblinman

.09 gauge strings.. I have always played Strats with 9's on them, and just thought I disliked the tone of Strats/Teles. But, I had no 10's available when I bought my Epi Studio, so it was strung with a set of 9's I had lying around, and I really didn't like the sound of that guitar at all. Sounded anemic to me or something.

When I broke a string on my other LP, I bought multiple sets of 10s and decided to restring the Studio. All of a sudden, I actually LIKE the sounds coming from it. I think I might have to buy a Strat now and string it with 10's to really give them a fair shake, and I think that may also be why I never bonded with my Squier '51. What string gauges do you guys prefer? I never realized how much I didn't like really light strings.

When I started playing, a whole 2 1/2 years ago, I used 9's on all my guitars simply because of the lesser fretting effort required, I found it too easy to unintentionally bend them though and have been using 10's for the last year or so. They not only feel more substantial, but as you mention, they sound beefier also. When I can play worth a damn (don't hold your breath), I might even consider trying out 11's or 12's.

Generally speaking, I tend to use 10's...(11's on my Gretsch guitars.)

I used to use (and still do, on one or two guitars), the "Heavy Bottom,

Skinny Top" (10-52), or equivalent. Especially, for heavier Rhythm type

or "power chord" styles. Leads, usually straight sets of 10's. But, again,

it may depend on the guitar, itself.

CB

I use EB Power Slinky 11's on my Dot, LP & Strat (I also replace the bottom E with a 52) & D'Addario XL 11's on my Tele.

I tried everything from 9's through to 13's and settled on the above as the best feeling for me.