Gibson Brands Forums

Any Old RoadHouse Rats Over 50 Out There??

bluezguy

Well...I'm definitely in the age group, but I don't think we need an exclusive catagory, on

this forum. The "kids" are fun, and funny...and have a lot to offer, quite often. Keeps

me on my toes, too! IF they have some postings, that aren't of my interest, or tastes,

I just don't go there, or feel the need to post. One of the things I like about this forum,

is the diversity of ages, experience levels, and backgrounds. Keeps things interesting... [biggrin]

IMHO.

CB

I am in that group also and agree with CB. The Old timers or what ever we are rated at today, should pass on our experience to those who will probably never have the opportunities we had to play live in so many different venues.

There does seam to be some resurgence for Acoustic and Blues in my area now.

I started playing in bar bands in 1963, when I was all of 15...slept through the last 2 years of high school. I went to college and found a good little blues band that needed a regular bass player/singer, and I did that rather than continue my education till I got drafted about 2 years later. Started back with that band later for a few more years, and one later band for a short time in Berkeley, CA in '75. My "career" ended then, but I'm not an old retired guy who spends much of his time playing guitar.

I spent about 15 years playing for money and working temp **** jobs in between gigs. I have been in some terrible bars and a few good places in the Philadelphia - South NJ - and New York State areas, and I respect anyone who has done that. I wonder how much of that world still exists...I am going in an "open mic" thing sometime this summer, just to see if I can still do it.

I will be 65 late this summer, and i'm right now starting the Ted Greene books to improve my understanding of chords. I play bass, guitar, and a little harmonica, and still sing a bit.

If this starts up, I'd like to be in it.

mark