Gibson Brands Forums

Musicians and dancing...

Rabs

Theres something I have always wondered about so thought id ask you guys...

I have NEVER EVER been into dancing (apart from maybe a slow dance with a nice lady, or the odd mosh).. Most of my friends are into it and would go clubbing and such which I tried so I could be with my friends cos there was a time when thats all they did of a weekend, but I found it pointless (obvioulsy)..

Now ive found that out of all my friends, strangely enough all the ones who dont dance are guitarists.. Is this just a coincidence with the group of friends I have or is this normal?

I used to argue with my ex about it and she was like, but you love music how can you not dance. I have always thought that its because I am a musician and thats how I express myself musically.

Plus I think (if im really honest) that most people look really silly when they dance, which may be the reason alone lol.

So what about you folk? Do you dance? Do you think theres any merit in my theory ? :)

I was NEVER into dancing....('cept like you....the slow dance with a person with nice curves....but no mosh).

I'm very comfortable on stage 'dancin' with my guitar, but regular dancing just ain't me.

Yeah same here... im fine on a stage and I dont really care what people think, i just do my thing.. but just hate dancing..

Weird !! :)

I wish I could dance, but I can't. In my early 20s drinking days, I danced all the time, and I'm sure I looked like a stooge. When my son got married last summer, I hit the dance floor, and it wasn't pretty. I felt awkward. I always wind up thinking too much instead of just moving. It comes down to being uninhibited. Just not caring what you look like and just having fun. Women like men who can dance a hell of a lot more than guys who play a guitar. Some day, I'd like to take swing dance lessons with my wife.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knW1hGwmEXQ