Gibson Brands Forums

Peavey...

Murph

Young people just getting into the biz might look at Peavey and not get it. Chinese amps, Chinese guitars, some P.A. stuff and a few weird looking American (fake) tweed amps.

Back in the early 70's P.A. gear was not very good, not very affordable and not very available. Enter Hartley Peavey. Although I think he wanted to build guitar amps, he found a NEED with affordable P.A. equipment. When I started playing bars he was just getting kicked off, and his early columns were EVERYWHERE in the East Valley of Phoenix, Mesa, Tempe, Apache Jct. because of Milano Music. They must have made him millions alone!

Suddenly, any moron that could play 2 chords could buy a P.A. system and start a band and sound bad. (This is also the beginning of punk/alt..... [thumbdn] )

The stuff was cheap, and it WORKED. There are thousands of stories of Peavey gear getting knocked over, falling out of trucks, down mountains, etc and still working. He also was big to push MADE IN U.S.A. every chance he got.

He jumped into EVERYTHING and nearly bankrupted Fender because this was the C.B.S. days. The early Classic 50 tube/ss hybrid, along with the Deuce (120 watt hybrid) and Mace (160 watt, 6; 6L6's, some guy from Skynyrd had one) were not real good sounding but they had gain, power and were cheap. They even toyed with a Lifetime Warranty even on speakers....... I'm serious.

I don't think he hurt Gibson. The T-60 wasn't in the same room as a Les Paul. If anything, so many bands popping up everywhere probably helped Gibson's bottom line during the late 70's, early 80's.

The end of columns was the legendary 1210T, with 2;12's, 2;10's, and 3 tweeters. Matched with an XR600 with lo/imp and a graphic you sounded pretty damned good for the late 70's. Then came the SP-2's, Black Widows, Scorpions, and finally, a deal with EVH.