Gibson Brands Forums

What Amp Should I buy

Goldenone

I am a newbe all the way, I started playing last June when I retired and noticed my son's cheepo Fender Squire rig sitting in the corner of our family room. I typed in how to play the blues and away I went. I purchased my Les Paul Standard used on ebay and I'm still using the cheepo Fender amp. I have been looking at combo amps. I will be playing the blues for the most part along with some 70s rock and would like some suggestions on what would be the best amp for me. I like used gear and someday hope to start hitting the local blues jams so I want something of quality with enough power to handle clubs. What would you suggest?

Thanks,

Dave

The price is a concern but not a major factor. I would rather wait to save a little more in order to get a great amp rather than spending money on something that I will not totally enjoy and will want to replace. That's why I bought a Gibson Les Paul, I know I can enjoy it for the rest of my life.

Definitely get a small tube amp. Just google "best small tube amp" and you'll be overwhelmed with choices. Small amps, I have a Vox AC4, Blackheart Little Giant, Fender Champ 600. They all sound great...except the 600; it's just OK. Blues Jrs are also great (have one of them, too) but a 15 watt tube amp is a lot of power.

Does anyone have an opinion on the Fender Blues Deluxe? There is a clean, made in the USA, used one at my local music store for $450.

no but Ive played one and I really like the way they sound. if you like it, go ahead and buy it. then make some noise [thumbup]

I've only played thru one at a store.

It has 40watts of power which is a lot of power.