Gibson Brands Forums

You Never Know Until It Happens

MissouriPicker

Went up to GC today. I had a $100 gift card from Christmas and they had extended their 15%off sale for another day. There on the wall was a Maple CJ165ce, the guitar I've been dreaming of for the last several months. Sounded great, both plugged-in and unplugged. My wife came over from Wal Mart to get me and said "what's going-on?"...lol...Told her this was the guitar I'd been talking about. Just a couple minutes later a salesdude comes from upstairs with two more Gibsons that had arrived this morning. One was a Songwriter and the other a standard J45. The J45 kind of reminded me of the pic that Gillain Girl put here on the forum the other day of her guitar on a chair on the porch. That's just what this J45 looked like---a rough-cut beauty. One of those guitars you could see a guy like Lightfoot or Cash playing at 3am in the dark. Anyway, I played the J45 for over an hour against every Martin and Taylor that appealed to me. An HD35 was in the running. It rumbled, but the J45 had that Gibson twang and thump. It was just there and you could not help but hear it.....Anyway, I came home with the J45. Life is crazy. Had absolutly no intention, maybe not even an interest in a J45. I had, over the last few weeks looked at the J45tv and Custom among other guitars as I searched for a CJ165. I've been reading about them and like the fancy "vine" headstock and the double rosettes on the Custom and TV J45s. I hadn't even given serious thought to a standard J45. Just didn't consider it. But, this guitar might be the most playable guitar I've found. Right out of the box, it is more like fretting chords on an electric than an acoustic.. VERY VERY easy to play. The neck is beyond comfortable. Perfect for my hands and fingers and even for the fingers of a new player. The guitar's finish is perfect as well. Everything looks and feels very good with it. The LR Baggs sounds great too---I like their stuff. Plus, the s