Gibson Brands Forums

Guitar Center - Good, Bad, or Ugly?

Work in Progress

I've read on my forums people's distaste with Guitar Center. I'm curious as to why this is. As I've stated before, I'm fairly new to guitar (nearly 4 years), self-taught, and don't have a friend or relative who play any sort of instrument. So my knowledge is only as vast as my curiosity.

Why are people so anti-Guitar Center? Are the employees not very knowledgeable? Are the guitars over-priced? Poor quality (i.e. only selling the floor models)? Poor selection?

I live in Houston, TX and have access to MANY music stores, however I shop at Guitar Center. I only shop on a holiday weekend to ensure a 15% discount (can haggle even lower, if I'm feeling lucky). I can't imagine paying a better price, but I'm all ears if there are (usually) deeper discounts at smaller shops. I understand the value in buying used, but again, my guitar experience probably couldn't spot a lemon (fake, damaged, abused, etc) on the scene if I needed to. There is a huge selection between the two stores in Houston, so I appreciate that (not to mention online selection). I get my guitars setup by a guy unaffiliated with GC who knows a hellava lot more than some of those "kids" behind the counters there.

Please educate me on what I'm missing. Thanks.

WIP

I have had good luck with GC. I have three in my area, have bought most of my guitars from the one nearest me, but I shop on all three. I usually deal with the same two guys, I am recognized when I go in, and people remember my name - I have always had good service. I have been able to get good deals on new and used guitars. I have most of my service work done at my local GC. The tech is knolegable and takes good care of my gear. The fact that he also plays professionally helps.