Gibson Brands Forums

Which do you guys think is more important? Learning leads or learning rhythms

alcorn429

I started playing with a group about 8 weeks ago and myself and the other guitarist have been having some disagreements over who would be playings lead parts and who would be rhythm. I've tried to learn in a balanced way but I'm better at playing rhythm because I'm more confident at it. I've kinda just geared my learning toward that when practicing on my own and then during my lessons i try to get help with solos during my lesson every week. I've seen some posts sayin rhythm is "dead" so I figured I'd ask. Which do you guys thing is the best to focus on?

Also, I'm kinda lookin to start playin some Zepplin. So if anyone has any suggestions on songs and or tab books to look at, I would greatly appreciate it.

Learning rhythm is more important IMO. You should learn the rhythm part, and once that's mastered, learn the lead.

In my case, I like to be creative and improvise, so I usually just solo in the same key of the song, that way I don't have to learn the lead, and I get to be more creative and have my own style. I play solo's similiar to a song, the same feel, but in my own way.

As for Zeppelin stuff, just google tabs for songs, and find one that sounds good to you, or if they have "star" rating accuracy, find one with a high star marking.

Good Luck!

One thing the guitar can do that most instruments can't do is play chords. (Keyboards are one exception). You and the other guitarist should be able to switch back and forth between lead and rhythm effortlessly.

Some of rock's best "lead players" were really amazing at playing rhythm....Hendrix, Van Halen, Page, Rhoades, etc. I remember when I arrived at college, and a guy saw me with my ax and said "whaddaya play, lead or rhythm." I simply replied "Neither. I play guitar."