Gibson Brands Forums

Electric guitars

58 Relic

Firstly thanks for such a welcoming place to visit . I have question that I need some advice with . I have been playing the guitar for the last 51 years and like most guitarists have a collection of a few electric guitars . Here's the problem or situation , I have fell in love with the acoustic guitar over the last six or so years and now find myself playing fingerstyle acoustic 100%. ( quite a mile away from the country and blues clubs of the 80s and 90s ) . Fast forward to today I do not gig really anymore I just play during our worship at church most weeks or an acoustic gig once or twice a year , I have a nice Gibson J45 that is a keeper and other acoustics , but I look at the electrics sitting not being used and I'm thinking do I sell them ( ok I'll keep one ) for a nice J200 or Humminbird ? it seems a shame to see guitars not being used . Anybody else in or been this situation. Thanks for the advice .

Sell them and get something you can fingerpick NOW like the Bird.

I have some to go as well - just haven't been mentally ready for the onslaught - last time I sold one, the phone rang at 3am or whenever. Not eBayin', so will probably sell on consignment at a shop. A couple of acoustics are getting nervous too!

Will hopefully be converted to something nice and more relevant.

BluesKing777.