Gibson Brands Forums

I'm gettin' zapped in the morning

bonzoboy

This morning I went to pre-admission clinic and finally got the go-ahead to have the cardioversion done.What they do is put me out with a general anesthetic and stop my heart then they will immediately restart it and if that's successful my heart will be back to normal rhythm.I have to take it easy for at least 24 hours after the treatment and I won't be allowed to drive my truck or even get on the tractor to mow the lawn. So I guess it will be a couple of days playing my guitars-wwhat a rough time that will be...lol.

Prayers your way. Not something to mess with or not take seriously, although I am pretty sure the Doc's have this proceedure down.

Maybe this would be interesting to you: There was this Jazz musiciain I studied under breifly, Dr. Art Davis. He played on a lot of really "out there" rhythmic stuff with Roach and Coltrane, Elvin Jones' solo stuff. He even recorded with a group that pre-dates the "Bossa Nova" from Stan Getz. He ain't a household name, even by Jazz enthusiast, but when learning about his life and career, who he played with and WHAT he played, it is surprising he isn't. Some call him the greatest bass player alive (when he was).

Back to the subject: anyway, while he was a career musician, he got his Dr. Degree in phsycology, and his interest of study was rhythm. He believed that the reason rhythm had such an effect on poeple as music was because it was connected to the heartbeat. He said Rhythms that poeple use in music mimmics the heartbeat. On the one hand, the reason steady timekeepers have such an effect on the listener is that connection to the body, and also as a musical "expert" on rhythms, why some types of beats sound the way they do. Swings and shuffles and such being a sort of imitation of the heat action. A "natural" reaction occurs.