Gibson Brands Forums

What milod taught me

Izzy

One of my favorite things about the G Lounge is all the tips people give, not just about guitar or music but about other stuff.

milod pointed out that I have an odd timing thing going in my recordings. "Can't tap my foot to it," is how he put it. I started playing to a metronome and what a difference it has made! Forget the time keeping (I can keep it if I know the song well) what it does is force me to just play the notes of new songs without second-guessing myself. Yeah, I may screw up a note or two at first, but if I keep in rhythm eventually the right note is found and I will hit it repeatedly without slowing or wondering. It makes me learn faster, I reckon'.

Thanks milod [thumbup]

This is your chance to thank someone on here for what they've helped you with, introduced you to or taught you.

What MILOD has taught me? What an EXCELLANT question!

Milod's postings have actually had an impact on my life and how I view things and fucntion in normal life.

For one, very early on this forum, he taught me how to write and space a post to make it readable and accessable to a reader. When I first got on, I was writing long paragraphs which honestly most poeple would not care to read. He brought to my attention that posting on the net is a different form of literacy, and made me aware.

He taught me the value of editing. That a short sentance often gets the point across better than explaining it.

He taught me perspective. How to step further back to get to see realities of a subject.

Besides looking at Milod as a historical artifact of information, I have become aware that it isn't just a case of having been there and experienced things, he has a talent and ability to SEE it as it happens, and communicate it back so it has relevance and meaning. I believe this ability of his isn't just a matter of having wisdom. He knows how to find wisdom.