Gibson Brands Forums

Emotional reaction to playing music

saturn

I wonder if anyone has ever had similar experience to this? Or maybe it happens to other all the time?

I've been jamming and playing in bands since the mid 1990's. I've done more jams, parties, gigs etc than I could ever count. And with different groups, bands and lineups. There's been lots of fun times and there's been plenty of times where I thought (and everyone else) that we played and sounded great.

But I had something happen recently that I've never experienced before. Now I'm not generally an emotional guy or overly sentimental. We played a gig the Saturday before St Paddy's Day. Initially it was going to be Steve and I acoustic. Then they wanted a band so we got drums and bass player. The day of gig the bass player's brother showed up so we squeezed him in as another guitar. This guy Elvin is so good. His brother Ed on bass is amazing too. It's such an honor to play with these guys. We had a great gig all around and they loved us.  But there was a particular point we were playing the song Dead Flowers. Simple 3 chord song with simple lyrics. There was a moment when we were all so locked-in. Drums were perfectly grooving with bass, Steve rhythmically strumming his D, A, G chords and singing, and Elvin and I improvising together on the fills and extended lead jam. Our two guitars were blending so perfectly that I got goose bumps and a lump in my throat and even got a little light headed. It had nothing to do with the song we were playing or the crowd (including my wife) there. It was like the vibrations of the music, especially our two guitars, triggered a weird response. Again I'd never had that happen before and it kind of freaked me out a little. 

Anyone else have something like this happen when they play?  

Edited by saturn
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2