Gibson Brands Forums

Does this look like maple to you?

Rabs

So I was watching a Trogly video where he shows a LP Custom that has been stiped down..  The thing is that they are meant to have maple tops right?  Does that look like maple to you?  It looks more like quarter sawn Spruce or even Cherry to me??

4 minutes ago, badbluesplayer said:

Could be ash.  Could be maple.  Probably maple, guessing from the supposed history of the thing.

I dont think its either.. When he shows a close up of the body, the wood grain looks too open for maple and not open enough for ash...

It is hard to tell from the video though so I may be wrong.

It is really hard to tell to be honest..  I worked with wood on a daily basis for almost two years and of course I have been making guitars on and off since about 2012.. So while I am not actually an expert, I do have a lot of experience..  With wood you have a spectrum of what its meant to look like. And I have seen it on every end..  Sometimes you get wood that doesnt look typically like it is meant too in terms of colour and grain pattern..  HOWEVER, what I know about Maple is that its a very close grained wood. Does not need grain filler. So in the video he does a close up of the top corner of the body..  What I see there is probably left over from the paint that was on the guitar and has filled the grain and that is what has been left over after sanding.

To me that just looks too grainy for maple.. 

xa6rU50.jpg

There is also the colour...   There seems to be too much red in there for maple...

ojZddZw.jpg

18 minutes ago, jdgm said:

I think the red must be what's left after they stripped the original finish...:-k

One of these perhaps?

https://www.wood-database.com/hard-maple/