Gibson Brands Forums

Took all the guitars down

brc

I started playing in 1956-1957, so I have been around guitars for a big part of my life. Was in a group in the 60s - 70s that actually had prety good success. That led me to open my own shop in Las Vegas for about 9 nine years, and I also taught guitar for the city of Las Vegas.

Got in to collecting for a while, and wound up with quite a few vintage, and rare guitars.

The story goes on as I know many of your own life stories do also, so it led to more involvement with guitars and equipment.

But as I got older, the ol health took a turn for the worse, which among other things led to a stroke, which left my left hand unable to play guitar any more. After trying for the last three years, I finally came to the difficult realization that is not getting any better, and that its time to take my guitars down from the wall hangers, and pack them up.

What a strange feeling when I walked into the room where some of my guitars where hanging on the wall, only to see a bare spot where my guitars once were there ready to play at any moment.

Actually feel like I lost some real close friends.

I have already sold about 8 or 9 guitars this year so far, but the balance of the guitars,the rare, and vintage ones are not being sold. There are some things you just cant part with.

I am sorry to hear that you can't play guitar anymore. I'm pretty sure our army lost a good soldier.

Sometimes it's ******* hard dealing with the fact that we all are getting old and someday we'll be no longer able to do things we like but, it comes to everyone.

Saying goodbye to your friends ain't no easy either. I'm glad to hear that you are keeping some of them.

I wish you all the best and I'm sure you're going to find the strength to overcome it all.