Gibson Brands Forums

3 Years Sober.....

Murph

Today is my anniversary.

For the newbies, I started playing bars at age 12. It was a different time. Raised by bikers and moved around a lot, at age 16 I was gigging (front man/lead player) for $25.00 a night, drinking beer, smoking cigarettes and everything else that would burn.

Musicians were not only allowed to drink while working, it was expected.

Somehow, by the Grace of God, I pulled this off for over 35 years.

For those of you just getting started, and those of you winding down your musical career I just say "best of luck" and "be careful".

For anyone I offended back in the day, or even just yesterday, I humbly apologize.

Murph.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Today is my anniversary.

For the newbies, I started playing bars at age 12. It was a different time. Raised by bikers and moved around a lot, at age 16 I was gigging (front man/lead player) for $25.00 a night, drinking beer, smoking cigarettes and everything else that would burn.

Musicians were not only allowed to drink while working, it was expected.

Somehow, by the Grace of God, I pulled this off for over 35 years.

For those of you just getting started, and those of you winding down your musical career I just say "best of luck" and "be careful".

For anyone I offended back in the day, or even just yesterday, I humbly apologize.

Murph.

Congratulations Murph! Keep on keepin on.

3 years here too...I never been a hard drinker, maybe 2-3 beers a day a few times a week, but had to stop it entirely due to health issues. Not if I miss it, just would be nice to have one on a hot day. That's life.

Keep on. I am with You! Cheers... Bence

Congratulations Murph!

I went on the Atkins diet in late 2003 so the Colt 45 had to go. It was weird for a few weeks but I haven't given it any thought in years. Once I hit the "one year" mark I figured I'd keep going. Haven't had a sip since about the first week of December 03.