Gibson Brands Forums

How'd you pick your LP out of so many?

Lungimsam

I am a bassist and have been reading this forum for a little and am finding the LP guitar discussions interesting. But it seems there are so many LP variants, how do you pick?I guess takes a lotta research to find one with just the right features you could want. And colors? I saw one model that comes in like 15 different bursts?!?!?! How on earth do you decide?

I guess I would start with neck profiles and see which worked best for my hands, then once I figured out that much find the model that has that neck profile  and also pups I liked the sound of, then decide about color, and hope I didn't land on the model with the 15 burst options or I'd be in decision paralysis.

Anyway, I am enjoying the convo and finding the insight into the LP players' world very interesting.

My only LP stories:

1. When I was a kid I know a guy who had a gold top, iirc, with custom airbrushed paintings on the back. I wonder whatever happened to it.

2. Back in '88, the singer  from Cinderella bought a bunch of speakers ( like 5k worth) from a mail order retailer I worked for and he tried them all out with the same gold top LP. I don't remember the model year. The finish was all cracked up and checked up. Interesting guitar to look at, though.

My guitars have picked me, I don't pick them.

I walk into a store wander around,  don't get any feeling. 

Next day walk into the same store wander around don't get any feeling. 

One walk in, one day,  and a guitar whispers try me.

That's the one I pick up.

Could take months of this process 

so many??  where do you shop?  LOL!

when I bought my oldest LP in 1995, the shop had two Standards  a gold top with Ceramic Pickups, and a Wine Red one with 490R/498T pickups

I did not like the ceramic pickups, but the Wine Red LP just seemed RIGHT to me.  I went back and forth tho with both of them for a while.  The shop owner left me alone and the store was quiet.