Gibson Brands Forums

The end of an era...

rct

I've been hanging around here for 11, 12 years now.  I've admired and respected the many kinds of guitar players doing many kinds of things with many kinds of guitars, lots of you do stuff I could never do, lots of you do the same things I do.

With guitars and guitar players go the Cats.  Lots of good people here, lots of good Cat peoples here.

After a couple of months of hospice with us, palliative care from us, our dear Ichabod left us yesterday.

He has been in a lot of pictures I've put up here.  He was 18 years old.  18 years is 28.57% of my life.  Mrs and I have been together 46 years now, 43 married this year.  This was truly one of the hardest things we've had to do, and we've done some pretty hard stuff in our short time together.

For the last 4 years he has truly lived the Rock Star life.  Up at the crack of noon, back in bed with us around 1am, several naps during the day in one lap or the other.  Between me retiring, the covid keeping her working from home for over two years, and then her retiring, we were truly a Throuple in here, he had us to himself for a good long time.

He never missed a string change, one of his favorite play times.  Even last week he tried.  He tried so hard to play with the strings, but he couldn't.  The look of defeat was more than I could bear and that guitar still isn't restrung.

If I ticked you off these last few months or so, I truly apologize.  The stress has been high, we've done almost nothing but care for him, keep him comfortable, blender up his food so he could eat it, and hope he did.  On Thursday when he just gave up, he couldn't eat any more, we knew it was time.  He had a tumor in his jaw, it finally won.

He is at peace now.  We are at peace with him and it. 

From better days, demanding with one look that I move the EJrctRW and my #1 Tele from his end of the couch.  

Ichabod-Strat-Tele.jpg

rct

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1
  • Sad 2